New colour and B+W images

Well, it’s been a busy old time setting-up a new computer with all the necesary software, and sorting the photo hard-drives, but I’ve finally found time to update the blog.  New colour and monochrome images are now on my website and on Flickr for checking-out, many from a few trips around the Suffolk coast, here in the UK.

The websites are: www.paulcoghlinphotography.com and http://www.flickr.com/photos/39595274@N07/

A few examples of some of the new work.. Clicking on each image will take you to its page on my website.

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to New colour and B+W images

  1. Cameron Harrington says:

    Hi,

    My name is Cameron Harrington. I am an aspiring photographer who lives outside of Washington, DC. I have been shooting for almost 15 years, and have always preferred shooting in B & W, even though the age of the darkroom is relatively obsolete.

    Anyway, I am a WordPress neophyte and was perusing photo blogs and wanted to tell you how much I love your work.

    I am sure you are busy, but thought I would drop you a line.

    Thanks,
    Cameron Harrington

  2. Paul Coghlin says:

    Hi Cameron,

    Many thanks for your very kind comments. I’m glad you’re enjoying the images. And you may be surprised to know that all the images are digital, such are the advances in the modern “digital darkroom”.

    For many years I used a traditional darkroom, but imaging software has improved so much that many of the chemical darkroom qualities found in a photograph can now be reproduced very closely in the computer, even into black and white photography.

    I’ve had a look at your blog and you have some great pictures there and I especially liked the abstract studies of wood and of the snow. We’ve been watching the news reports here in UK of your snow storms, so I hope they clear away soon for you there!

    Thanks again for your comments, and keep up the good work!

    Kind regards,

    Paul

    Suffolk, UK

    • Cameron Harrington says:

      Hi, Paul,

      Thanks for your kind comments! Photography has always been the one constant in my life, and although I never went to school specifically for photography, it has always been what I have wanted to do.

      DC is slowly — and very poorly — digging itself out of the snow. I haven’t had to teach in well over a week, and apparently there are streets in DC and its suburbs that haven’t even been touched. So sad, but such is the life of an economy in crisis.

      I just shot some potentially cool images of a hydroelectric dam up the street from my house (we live in a suburb that is really close to the mountains). We’ll see how they turn out!

      I went to Oxford to take part in a pre-collegiate summer program and I often wished we lived over there. It is really beautiful — rainy, but beautiful!

      Anyway, I look forward to future correspondence with you! Take care, and I hope all is well in the Great UK!

      Cameron

Leave a Reply

